Crass - Christ The Album / Well Forked But Not Dead [2LP BOX]

  • Sale
  • Regular price €36,00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Released in 1982 with unplanned irony as the Falklands War raged on, Christ, The Album, another double vinyl half-studio/half-live release, once again aimed to take no prisoners. It’s controversial and boundary pushing style has been at the crux of critic and fan discussions for the years that followed, but admittedly received unquestionable respect and admiration. Harry Sword phrases it best: “Christ, The Album is too good for the TV punk documentaries, that’s why it’s still relevant and dangerous now.” Read his thoughts as the album marks it’s 30th year in the sonic ether.

“By 1981 Crass had been in existence for four tempestuous years. In that time we’d encouraged punk to grow from being no more than just another ‘great rock’n’roll swindle’ into a genuine movement for change. Anarchy had been rescued from the dusty libraries of academia and the equally dusty dreams of barstool bullshitters to become the catchword for a whole new generation of streetwise activists.” – Penny Rimbaud

Cut to new lacquers at Abbey Road studios from the untouched original analogue vinyl master, this double LP comes with the original book (“A Series Of Shock Slogans And Mindless Token Tantrums”), original poster and the addition of a download card giving you free access to an mp3 download of the album. All of the original tracks remain intact, including recording of their 1981 summer gig at the 100 Club in London, as well as other studio tracks, demos, radio broadcasts and cassette recordings, leaving no Crass gem unturned.

Christ - The Album
A1. Have A Nice Day
A2. Mother Love
A3. Nineteen Eighty Bore
A4. I Know There Is Love
A5. Beg Your Pardon
A6. Birth Control 'n' Rock 'n' Roll
A7. Reality Whitewash
B1. It's The Greatest Working Class Rip-Off
B2. Deadhead
B3. You Can Be Who?
B4. Buy Now Pay As You Go
B5. Rival Tribal Revel Rebel (Pt. 2)
B6. Bumhooler
B7. Sentiment (White Feathers)
B8. Major General Despair
Well Forked - But Not Dead
C1. Banned From The Roxy
C2. The Sound Of One Hand
C3. Punk Is Dead
C4. Nagasaki Nightmare
C5. Darling
C6. Bata Motel Blues
C7. Berkertex Bribe
C8. Fold It In Half
C9. Big Hands
C10. Heart-Throb Of The Mortuary
C11. Bumhooler
C12. Big A Little A
C13. First Woman
D1. Arlington 73
D2. Bomb Plus Bomb Tape
D3. Contaminational Power
D4. I Ain't Thick
D5. G's Song
D6. Securicor
D7. I Can't Stand It
D8. Shaved Women
D9. A Part Of Life
D10. Do They Owe Us A Living
D11. So What
D12. Salt 'n' Pepper