Metallica - ....And Justice For All

  • Sale
  • Regular price €37,99
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

... And Justice for All is the fourth studio album by American heavy metal band Metallica, released on August 25, 1988, through Elektra Records. It was the band's first studio album to feature bassist Jason Newsted after the death of Cliff Burton in 1986.

The band recorded …And Justice for All during early 1988 at One on One Recording Studios in Los Angeles. Musically, the album is progressive, with long and complex songs, fast tempos, and few verse-chorus structures. It is noted for its sterile production, which producer Flemming Rasmussen attributed to his absence during the mixing process. The lyrics feature themes of political and legal injustice seen through the prisms of censorship, war, and nuclear brinkmanship. The album's front cover, designed by Stephen Gorman on a scheme by James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, features a representation of Lady Justice, bound by ropes, with two breasts bare and its scales tipping toward one plate filled with money. The phrase "…And Justice for All" appears spray-painted in the lower right corner. The album title is derived from the American Pledge of Allegiance. Three songs from the album were released as singles: "Harvester of Sorrow", "Eye of the Beholder" and "One"; the title track was released as a promotional single.

…And Justice for All was acclaimed by music critics. It earned Metallica its first Grammy Award (and the first ever in the Best Metal Performance category) in 1990. The group's best-selling album at the time, it was the first underground metal album to achieve chart success in the United States. The album was certified 8× platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in 2003 for shipping eight million copies in the U.S., making it Metallica's second-best-selling album in the country. 

A1. Blackened
A2. ...And Justice For All
B1. Eye Of The Beholder
B2. One
C1. The Shortest Straw
C2. Harvester Of Sorrow
C3. The Frayed Ends Of Sanity
D1. To Live Is To Die
D2. Dyers Eve